Gold Award Nomations are due on December 11, 2015.


Individual Society Award information is due on January 15, 2016. Download the form (Word Doc)


For more information, please contact: Elana Shelef, or 248-353-0735, ext. 119.


ESD Affiliate Council Gold Award

At a special banquet each February, the ESD Affiliate Council (made up of 92 societies) presents its most prestigious tribute, The Gold Award, to honor an outstanding engineer or scientist. Each society may nominate one individual; all nominations received are then judged by a group comprised of past Affiliate Council presidents: To date, the following individuals have been selected to receive The Gold Award:

1972    Walker Cisler
1973    Russell D. O’Neal, PhD
1974    Walter Kapryan, PhD
1975    Kasimer Fajans, PhD
1976    Joseph B. Olivieri, PE, FESD
1977    Sumner B. Twiss, PhD
1978    Wayne H. Jens, PhD
1979    Stephen R. Davis, PhD, FESD
1980    Fabian C. Polcyn
1981    George E. F. Brewer, PhD
1982    Hansraj Bajaria, PhD
1983    Julius J. Harwood, PhD, FESD
1984    Martin J. Caserio
1985    Richard E. Marburger, PhD, FESD
1986    William G. Wood
1987    Ruth A. Reck, PhD
1988    Edgar E. Parks, PE, FESD
1989    Shirley E. Schwartz
1990    Ralph H. Kummler, PhD, FESD
1991    Harold C. MacDonald, PhD, FESD
1992    Not Given
1993    William W. Scherkenbach
1994    Rose A. Ryntz, PhD
1995    Stanley Kirschner, PhD
1996    Norman A. Gjostein, PhD, FESD
1997    Kurt C. Frisch
1998    Fred W. Beaufait, PhD, FESD
1999    Simon C. Tung, PhD, FESD
2000    Not Given
2001    Jack G. Simon, PhD
2002    John R. Keough, PE, FASM
2003    Norm Kakarala, PhD
2004    John C. Bierlein, PhD
2005    Edward P. Czapor
2006    Vinod K. Sahney, PhD
2007    Levi Thompson, PhD
2008    Mumtaz A. Usmen, PhD, PE, FESD
2009    Suresh Shah, PhD
2010    Steven J. Kirk, PhD, FAIA, FSVE, CVS, LEED AP
2011    Gordon V.R. Holness, PE, Fellow ASHRAE, FMSPE
2012    Lewis N. Walker, PhD, PE
2013    Donald K. Cohen, PhD
2014    Kush Shah, CQE, CMQ/OE, CSSBB, Red-X Master, CQA, CBA
2015    Irvin E. Poston, PE, FESD



Home | Calendar of Events | Contact | Directions | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Make a Donation

The Engineering Society of Detroit • 20700 Civic Center Drive, Suite 450 • Southfield, MI 48076
248-353-0735 • fax 248-353-0736 •

© Copyright - The Engineering Society of Detroit


SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment